Dartmouth Medicine HomeCurrent IssueAbout UsContact UsSearchPodcasts

Worthy of note: Honors, awards, appointments, etc.

Peter Silberfarb, M.D., a professor and the chair of psychiatry, has been appointed a member of the American Cancer Society's Scientific Council for Extramural Grants. (Silberfarb is about to step down as the psychiatry department's chair after 26 years in the position; see page 12 for news about his newly named successor.)

Daniel Levin, M.D., a professor of pediatrics, received the Distinguished Career Award from the American Academy of Pediatrics' Section on Critical Care.

Eugene Nelson, D.Sc., a professor of community and family medicine, was recently named to a panel of judges by the Institute for Healthcare Improvement as part of a program to recognize quality health care and healthcare safety.

James Pilliod, M.D., an adjunct assistant professor of pediatrics, received a Special Achievement Award from the American Academy of Pediatrics for his commitment to improving children's rights to health care.

Three DMS faculty members were recently elected to positions in the New Hampshire Pediatric Society. Charles Cappetta, M.D., an adjunct assistant professor of pediatrics at Dartmouth- Hitchcock Nashua, was elected president; Lawrence Kaplan, M.D., an associate professor of pediatrics, was elected first vice president; and Christine Rosenwasser, M.D., an adjunct assistant professor of pediatrics at Dartmouth- Hitchcock Manchester, was elected treasurer.

The Pediatric Society also presented Sol Rockenmacher, M.D., an associate professor of pediatrics and the society's outgoing president, with its Pediatrician of the Year Award; Gilbert Fuld, M.D., an adjunct assistant professor of pediatrics, with the Franklin Norwood Rogers Award for his contributions to children's health care; and William Boyle, M.D., a professor of pediatrics and of community and family medicine with the Public Servant of the Year Award.

DHMC has become the headquarters for the Alzheimer's Association of Vermont and New Hampshire, which was formed when two separate state chapters merged on July 1. Robert Santulli, M.D., an assistant professor of psychiatry and former president of the New Hampshire chapter, was elected president of the merged, twostate organization.

Adam Keller, M.P.H., associate dean and chief operating officer of DMS, was appointed acting treasurer and vice president for finance and administration of Dartmouth College. Keller will continue to serve in his DMS posts, which he has held since 1995, while overseeing the operations and management of the College's fiscal vice presidency.

Dorothy Mullaney, A.R.N.P., a nurse practitioner in neonatology, was named Nurse Practitioner of the Year by the New Hampshire Nurse Practitioner Association.

Li Wang, a graduate student in biochemistry, won the Norton B. Gilula Award of the American Society of Cell Biology. She was selected from more than 1,000 applicants for the student travel award, which is funded by Rockefeller University Press, to attend the society's annual meeting in San Francisco.

In the 2002 U.S. News & World Report "America's Best Hospitals" issue, Dartmouth- Hitchcock's Norris Cotton Cancer Center was listed as one of the 50 best cancer treatment and research centers in the country. The magazine examined over 6,000 hospitals in all regions of the country and compared them based on several factors, including reputation, number of procedures performed, mortality rates, and level of technology available. Norris Cotton was ranked 39th in the cancer category.

Michael Gazzaniga, Ph.D., a professor of psychological and brain sciences and the director of Dartmouth's Center for Cognitive Neuroscience, has been appointed dean of the Dartmouth faculty of arts and sciences. He will oversee the humanities, science, social science, and interdisciplinary programs as well as graduate studies at the College.

Back to Vital Signs

Back to Table of Contents

Dartmouth Medical SchoolDartmouth-Hitchcock Medical CenterWhite River Junction VAMCNorris Cotton Cancer CenterDartmouth College