COVID-19 Information
Home Past IssuesAbout UsContact Us Twitter Icon Facebook Logo LinkedIn Logo
Dartmouth Medical School Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center

Vital Signs

Worthy of Note: Honors, awards, appointments, etc.

James Weinstein, D.O., the Peggy Y. Thomson Professor of the Evaluative Clinical Sciences, was elected a member of the National Academy of Sciences' Institute of Medicine, one of the nation's highest honors in the field. At the time of his election, Weinstein was also copresident of Dartmouth-Hitchcock and director of the Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy and Clinical Practice (TDI). A few weeks later, in a consolidation of DH's leadership, he was named CEO of the Dartmouth-Hitchcock health system. Concurrently, the Trustees of DH named Wiley Souba (right), M.D., Sc.D., the dean of DMS, as the acting director of TDI.

John Wennberg, M.D., the Peggy Y. Thomson Professor Emeritus of the Evaluative Clinical Sciences and the founding director of TDI, received from the University of Chicago the 2011 MacLean Center Prize in Clinical Ethics and Health Outcomes. The prize is the largestaward in the field of ethics; Wennberg was chosen for his "transformative contributions" to clinical ethics and health outcomes.

George O'Toole, Ph.D., a professor of microbiology and immunology, Duane Compton, a professor of biochemistry, and Jason Moore, a professor of genetics and of community and family medicine, have been elected Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

William Hickey, M.D., a professor of pathology, was reappointed to the board of governors of the College of American Pathologists.

Daniel Walsh, M.D., a professor of surgery, was named vice president of the Vermont Medical Society.

Eugene Demidenko, Ph.D., a research professor of community and family medicine, received first prize for a paper on statistical modeling of tumor regrowth that he contributed to the Joint Statistical Meetings, North America's largest gathering of statisticians.

Don Caruso, M.D., an adjunct assistant professor of community and family medicine, was appointed medical director of Dartmouth-Hitchcock Keene.

Nancy Formella, M.S.N., R.N., executive advisor to the Dartmouth-Hitchcock Board of Trustees and former copresident of Dartmouth-Hitchcock, was named chair of the New Hampshire Hospital Association's Board of Trustees.

Dartmouth-Hitchcock came in for several other recent honors from the New Hampshire Hospital Association. Wayne Granquist, the chair of the DH Board of Trustees, received the Hospital Association's Outstanding Trustee of the Year Award; it goes to a trustee "who serves as an example to encourage others in the pursuit of excellence in hospital governance." And Frank McDougall, DH's vice president of government relations, received the President's Award for his "dedicated service" to the Hospital Association. In addition, the DH-affiliated Cheshire Medical Center in Keene, N.H., received the Hospital Association's inaugural Healthy Eating-Active Living Award.

Carolyn Johnson, an M.D. student, was appointed to the American Academy of Family Physicians' Commission on Membership and Member Services. She was one of five medical students selected nationally.

If you'd like to offer feedback about this article, we'd welcome getting your comments at

This article may not be reproduced or reposted without permission. To inquire about permission, contact

Back to Table of Contents

Dartmouth Medical SchoolDartmouth-Hitchcock Medical CenterWhite River Junction VAMCNorris Cotton Cancer CenterDartmouth College