Dartmouth Medicine HomeCurrent IssueAbout UsContact UsSearchPodcasts

PDF Version   Printer-Friendly Version

Vital Signs

Worthy of note: Honors, awards, appointments, etc.

John Wennberg, M.D. (pictured), a professor of community and family medicine and the director of Dartmouth's Center for the Evaluative Clinical Sciences, was corecipient of this year's prestigious Picker Institute Award for the Advancement of Patient-Centered Care. The other recipient was Albert Mulley, Jr., M.D., a member of the DMS Board of Overseers, a 1970 graduate of Dartmouth College, and chief of the Division of General Medicine at Massachusetts General Hospital. The award, which comes with a $10,000 prize, recognized their work with the Foundation for Informed Medical Decision Making, which they cofounded in 1989.

Michael Sporn, M.D., a professor of pharmacology and toxicology, was corecipient—with Anita Roberts, Ph.D., of the National Cancer Institute—of the Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation's 2005 Brinker Award for Scientific Distinction. The two have collaborated for more than 30 years on the study of TGF-Beta, a messenger molecule that is integral to the activities of the cell cycle.

Andrew Wallace, M.D., dean emeritus of DMS, received the 2005 Distinguished Alumnus Award of the Duke Medical Alumni Association. He was dean at Dartmouth from 1990 to 1998 and before that served Duke as chief of cardiology, vice chancellor for health affairs, and CEO of Duke Hospital.

Kiang-Teck "Jerry" Yeo, Ph.D., a professor of pathology, recently was awarded the American Association of Clinical Science's International Travel Fellowship, which is intended to promote clinical laboratory science in other countries.

Andrew Saykin, Psy.D., a professor of psychiatry, was appointed to the editorial board of the Neuropsychology Review.

Diane Harper, M.D., an associate professor of community and family medicine, is one of five consultants to the National Board of Medical Examiners designing the pelvic clinical exam for Step Two of the U.S. Medical Licensing Examination.

James Weinstein, D.O., the chair of orthopaedic surgery, was named to the Spine Care Advisory Panel of the National Committee for Quality Assurance, a nonprofit organization concerned with improving the quality of health care.

Judy Stern, Ph.D., an associate professor of obstetrics and gynecology, was appointed chair of the Research Committee for the Society for Assisted Reproductive Technology.

Michael Gazzaniga, Ph.D., the David T. McLaughlin Distinguished Professor of Psychological and Brain Sciences, was recently elected to the Institute of Medicine.

William C. Cooley, M.D., an adjunct associate professor of pediatrics, received the 2005 Director's Award from the U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration's Maternal and Child Health Bureau, in recognition of his contributions to the health of children with special needs.

Parker Towle, M.D., an adjunct associate professor of neurology and a muchpublished poet, was the coeditor (with poet Cleopatra Mathis, director of the Dartmouth College Creative Writing Program) of a recent special issue of The Worcester Review literary journal that was devoted to celebrating the 100th birthday of noted poet Stanley Kunitz. Towle's own poetry has appeared in numerous journals and anthologies.

Paul Gardent, executive vice president of DHMC, was elected chair of the board of trustees of the New Hampshire Hospital Association. And Nancy Formella, M.S.N., senior nurse executive at DHMC, received the association's outstanding New Hampshire Nurse Leader Award.

Madge Buus-Frank, M.S.N., an instructor in pediatrics, received the Distinguished Leader in Neonatal Nursing Award from the National Association of Neonatal Nurses.

Of the eight honorary degrees awarded at Dartmouth's 2005 Commencement exercises, two went to individuals with a DMS tie and two to individuals eminent in biomedical science. Presented with doctor of humane letters degrees were Gordon Russell, DC '55, former chair of the DMS Board of Overseers and a retired partner in a California venture capital firm; and Tom Brokaw, longtime NBC Nightly News anchor and the father of Jennifer Brokaw, DMS '93. Doctor of science degrees went to Mary Sue Coleman, Ph.D., president of the University of Michigan and a professor of biological chemistry at Michigan's medical school; and to Mathilde Krim, Ph.D., a prominent virologist and AIDS advocate.

Sarah Greer, M.D., a second-year resident in surgery, was awarded first prize by the New England Surgical Society for the best presentation at the group's annual meeting. She shared the results of a new method of treatment for pancreatic cancer; see here for details about it.

Michael Cooley, Anna Huppler, Thomas Kesman, and Rebecca Swenson, all fourth-year DMS students, were elected to the Dartmouth chapter of Alpha Omega Alpha, the national medical honor society.

Ellen Ceppetelli, R.N., director of nursing education at DHMC, received the 2005 Distinguished Alumni Award from the School of Nursing at the University of Massachusetts at Amherst.

Jean Proehl, R.N., a clinical nurse specialist, was inducted into the inaugural class of the Academy of Emergency Nursing.

Jacqueline Stocking, R.N., a nurse and the education manager for the Dartmouth-Hitchcock Advanced Response Team, was appointed president of the Air and Surface Transport Nurses Association.

Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center's Intensive Care Unit received the Beacon Award for Critical Care Excellence from the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses. The unit was the subject of the cover feature in the Spring 2005 Dartmouth Medicine.

Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center received the New Hampshire Hospital Association's Foundation for Healthy Communities' Innovators Award, which celebrates ingenuity and creativity in improving health-care access, delivery, and quality.

Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center was also accorded two recent honors recognizing it as a good workplace. The Medical Center was again named one of the "Best Companies to Work For" by Business NH Magazine and New Hampshire Businesses for Social Responsibility, as well as one of New England's Best Workplaces for Commuters by the New England Best Workplaces for Commuters Coalition.

Dartmouth Medical School received full eight-year accreditation from the Liaison Committee on Medical Education, the national accrediting body for medical schools, following a recent site visit.

New London Hospital, which serves the Lake Sunapee region of central New Hampshire, has joined the Dartmouth-Hitchcock Alliance.

The Veterans Affairs Medical Center in White River Junction, Vt., was the first recipient of the 2005 Department of Veterans Affairs Circle of Excellence Award, a new national honor for performance achievement. In addition, the White River VA's Primary Mental Health Clinic received the Gold Achievement Award from the American Psychiatric Association.

Erratum: In an article in the Fall 2005 issue about the Medical School's new chair of physiology, Dr. Hermes Yeh, a typographical error in final production resulted in an incorrect date regarding one of his predecessors. Dr. Heinz Valtin was named chair of physiology in 1977, not 1997.

If you'd like to offer feedback about this article, we'd welcome getting your comments at DartMed@Dartmouth.edu.

This article may not be reproduced or reposted without permission. To inquire about permission, contact DartMed@Dartmouth.edu.

Back to Table of Contents

Dartmouth Medical SchoolDartmouth-Hitchcock Medical CenterWhite River Junction VAMCNorris Cotton Cancer CenterDartmouth College