Dartmouth Medicine HomeCurrent IssueAbout UsContact UsSearchPodcasts

Vital Signs

Worthy of Note: Honors, awards, appointments, etc.

The Master's of Public Health Program at DMS was awarded the maximum accreditation term of five years by the Council on Education for Public Health. A full five-year accreditation for a new public health program is an uncommon distinction; to qualify for accreditation, an M.P.H. program has to meet the council's requirements in five core areas: social and behavioral sciences, epidemiology, biostatistics, environmental health, and healthservices administration. DMS's M.P.H. program was started in 2002 and is offered through the Center for the Evaluative Clinical Sciences; 50 students are enrolled in the program for the 2003-04 academic year.

DHMC was ranked as one of the nation's Top 100 Cardiac Hospitals by Solucient, a leading healthcare data firm. Dartmouth- Hitchcock was listed with 30 teaching hospitals that have cardiovascular residencies; other hospitals in this category included Beth Israel Deaconess, Massachusetts General, and the Cleveland Clinic. The ranking criteria include risk-adjusted medical mortality and surgical mortality, rate of complications, severity-adjusted average length of stay, and procedure volume. The rankings were published in Modern Healthcare magazine.

Stephen Bartels, M.D., an associate professor of psychiatry, was the cochair of a national consensus panel charged with revising the recommended standard of care for nursing home residents with symptoms of depression and dementia. The panel was convened by the American Association for Geriatric Psychiatry, of which Bartels is a past president, and the American Geriatrics Society.

Jocelyn Chertoff, M.D., an associate professor of radiology and of obstetrics and gynecology, was elected to the board of directors of the Association of University Radiologists.

David Bzik, Ph.D., a professor of microbiology and immunology, was appointed to the AIDSAssociated Opportunistic Infections and Cancer Study Section for the Scientific Review.

James Gorham, M.D., Ph.D., an assistant professor of pathology and of microbiology and immunology, was appointed to the national Immunobiology of Liver Disease Committee of the American Liver Foundation and the American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases.

Kevin Dickey, M.D., an associate professor of radiology, was named associate editor of the journal Radiology.

Robert Harris, M.D., an associate professor of radiology and of obstetrics and gynecology, was named chair of the Genitourinary and Ob-Gyn Program Committee of the American Roentgen Ray Society.

Mohammad Khan, Ph.D., a research assistant professor of radiology, was awarded the Melvin H. Knisely Award for Outstanding Research in Oxygen Transport to Tissue.

William Petty, M.D., an instructor in medicine (hematology-oncology), received a Clinical Research in Lung Cancer Award from the American College of Chest Physicians, the CHEST Foundation, and the LUNGevity Foundation.

Patricia Carney, Ph.D. (pictured below), an associate professor of community and family medicine; David Nierenberg, M.D., a professor of medicine and of pharmacology and toxicology; and six colleagues received an award for the "Most Innovative Poster in Medical Education" from the Association of American Medical Colleges' Northeast Group on Educational Affairs. Their poster was titled "Using an Evaluation Working Group to Assess and Track Education Processes and Outcomes."

Joseph O'Donnell, M.D. (pictured below), a professor of medicine and the senior advising dean at DMS, with a colleague from Brown Medical School— Cathy Dube, Ph.D., a senior lecturer in community health and family medicine—received a third-place award from the American Association for Cancer Education for a poster presentation titled "Curriculum Resource for Men's Health: Clinical Communication for Male Cancer Screening."

Martha McLeod, M.S., an instructor in community and family medicine, received the 2003 Rural Partnership Award from the New Hampshire Rural Development Council.

Stephen Marion, vice president for regional planning at DHMC, was presented with the New Hampshire Hospital Association President's Award in recognition of his 18 years of service on the New Hampshire Certificate of Need Board.

Stanley Weinberger, a third-year medical student, is DMS's Rolf C. Syvertsen Fellow for 2003-04 (see page 10 for more about Weinberger). In addition, five fourth-year students were selected as Syvertsen Scholars: Danielle Adams, Joren Keylock, Fremonta Meyer, Symeon Missios, and Sarah Pitts.

Six fourth-year medical students were elected to the DMS chapter of the Alpha Omega Alpha national medical honor society: Danielle Adams, Marc Brazie, Matthew Crowley, Marta Hristova, Fremonta Meyer, and Craig Strauss.

Jason Kemp, a fourth-year medical student, was awarded a Pisacano Foundation Scholarship, recognizing his commitment to family practice. He is the first DMS student to receive the national scholarship.

First-year medical students Chris Allen, Kathryn Donhauser, Elizabeth Fingar, Lisa Norlander, and Sharon Silveira were named to the national executive board of the Family Medicine Interest Group.

Jamie Guth, the director of public affairs and marketing for DHMC, recently received an appointment as a public member of the District I Advisory Council for the American College of Obstetrics and Gynecologists.

Cynthia Stewart, associate director of the biomedical libraries, was selected to participate in the National Library of Medicine/Association of Academic Health Sciences Libraries Leadership Fellowship Program.

Donna Crowley, M.S., R.N., the nursing director for neuroscience and ENT at DHMC, received the 2003 Nursing Management Excellence Award from the New Hampshire Organization of Nurse Leaders. Crowley is also the incoming president of the organization.

Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center was once again named by Business NH Magazine to its annual Best Companies to Work For listing. Last year, DHMC was the first hospital ever included, and it was ranked fifth in the large-employer category. This year, DHMC moved up to second place in the category.

The Neuroscience Center at Dartmouth (NCD) has been named an "Allied Department" in the Carnegie Initiative on the Doctorate (CID). The CID, a division of the Carnegie Foundation, is a multiyear research program aimed at improving doctoral education in American universities and colleges. As an allied department, the NCD will help form a network in the field of neuroscience and serve as a source of information on CID studies. (See page 58 for a profile of the NCD's director.)

The White River Junction, Vt., VA Medical Center was awarded the Secretary of Veterans Affairs Robert W. Carey Organizational Excellence Award for the second consecutive year.

Back to Vital Signs

Back to Table of Contents

Dartmouth Medical SchoolDartmouth-Hitchcock Medical CenterWhite River Junction VAMCNorris Cotton Cancer CenterDartmouth College