Dartmouth Medicine HomeCurrent IssueAbout UsContact UsSearchPodcasts

Worthy of note: Honors, awards, appointments, etc.

William Wickner, M.D., the Chilcott Professor of Biochemistry, has been elected a member of the European Molecular Biology Organization, which, in addition to Europeans, selects a small number of foreign scientists for membership each year.

Paula Schnurr, Ph.D., a research professor of psychiatry, was elected to the board of directors of the International Society for Traumatic Stress Studies.

Norman Yanofsky, M.D., an associate professor of medicine and chief of emergency medicine, and John Sutton, M.D., an associate professor of surgery and chief of trauma, received the "Connor Honor" for their leadership in and commitment to New Hampshire Emergency Medical Services. They are the first recipients of this brand new award.

Robert Harris, M.D., an associate professor of radiology and of obstetrics and gynecology, was recently named a fellow of the American College of Radiology (ACR); he is currently the New Hampshire councilor to the ACR as well as the immediate past president of its New Hampshire chapter.

Robert Santulli, M.D., an assistant professor of psychiatry, was reelected president of the New Hampshire Alzheimer's Society.

Alex de Nesnera, M.D., an assistant professor of psychiatry, was elected president of the New Hampshire Psychiatric Society.

Two DMS faculty members were recently honored by the New Hampshire Pediatric Society. Gilbert Fuld, M.D., an adjunct assistant professor of pediatrics, was named Pediatrician of the Year; he is a past president of the society. And Robert Klein, M.D., a professor of pediatrics, was the recipient of the Franklin Norwood Rogers Award, recognizing a retired New Hampshire physician for lifelong contributions to the field.

Kristine Karlson, M.D., an assistant professor of community and family medicine, served as the team physician for the U.S. National Rowing Team at the 2000 World Championships, which were held in August in Zagreb, Croatia.

Peter Klementowicz, M.D., an adjunct clinical professor of medicine, was named chair of Governor Jeanne Shaheen's Advisory Panel on Cancer and Chronic Diseases.

The New Hampshire Foundation for Healthy Communities bestowed its Innovators Award, which recognizes "extraordinary ingenuity, creativity, and skill in improving health or health-care access, delivery, or quality," on Emily Baker, M.D., an assistant professor of obstetrics and gynecology; Victoria Flanagan, R.N., an instructor in pediatrics; Michele Lauria, M.D., an assistant professor of obstetrics and gynecology and of radiology; and Suzanne Boulter, M.D., an adjunct assistant professor of pediatrics.

Stephen Bartels, M.D., an associate professor of psychiatry, was named medical director for the New Hampshire Division of Behavioral Health and codirector of the New Hampshire- Dartmouth Psychiatric Research Center Behavioral Health Policy Institute.

Benjamin Lewis, Ed.D., a clinical associate and instructor in psychiatry, was recently appointed a member of the Performance Measures Standing Review Committee of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration.

Pamela Jenkins, M.D., an assistant professor of pediatrics and of community and family medicine, received the Doris Duke Clinical Scientist Award for 2000. It is an award intended to help support new physicians and scientists pursuing clinical research.

Anne Brisson, Ph.D., a research assistant professor of medicine and senior assistant to the dean, was appointed by Governor Jeanne Shaheen to a task force to evaluate and make recommendations from the Certificate of Need process in New Hampshire.

James AuBuchon, M.D., a professor of pathology and of medicine, was named acting chair of the Department of Pathology, succeeding Willima Hickey, M.D. (See page 6 for details of Hickey's new role.)

Joseph Meyer, M.D., an adjunct associate professor of surgery and program director of the DHMC-Concord General Surgery Rotation, received the Arthur Naitove Distinguished Teaching Award from the residents in the Department of Surgery.

Charles Hebble, a DHMC Trustee for 16 years, was honored by the New Hampshire Hospital Association for "exemplary performance in hospital governance."

Mary Chaffee, R.N., a nurse at White River Junction, Vt., VA Medical Center, was named the national Veterans Affairs Health-Care Giver of the Year.

Rita Odell, R.N., diabetes education coordinator, was named Diabetes Educator of the Year for 2000 by the New Hampshire Diabetes Educators Association.

Harry Kendrick, DHMC's director of housekeeping, received the highest honor of the International Executive Housekeepers Association (IEHA) - the Margaret Barnes Diamond Award.

The Dartmouth-Hitchcock Clinic in Concord and Concord Hospital recently announced a partnership; it will include sharing management, equipment, clinic space, and staff and is designed to improve continuity of services between the organizations and to control costs. The agreement, which does not constitute a merger or acquisition, will be finalized over the next few months.

If you would like to offer any feedback about this article, we would welcome getting your comments at DartMed@Dartmouth.edu.

Back to Vital Signs

Dartmouth Medical SchoolDartmouth-Hitchcock Medical CenterWhite River Junction VAMCNorris Cotton Cancer CenterDartmouth College