Dartmouth Medicine HomeCurrent IssueAbout UsContact UsSearchPodcasts

PDF Version   Printer-Friendly Version

Vital Signs

Worthy of note: Honors, awards, appointments, etc.

Ethan Dmitrovsky, M.D., the Andrew Wallace Professor and chair of Pharmacology and Toxicology, was named a clinical research professor by the American Cancer Society (ACS). This highly selective honor is the ACS's top award; it recognizes career-long contributions to science and patient care and supports mentoring of future generations of researchers. The multiyear grant will support Dmitrovsky's ongoing studies in the treatment and prevention of lung cancer.

Ann-Christine Duhaime, M.D., a professor of surgery, was named chair-elect of the Joint Section on Pediatric Neurological Surgery—a collaboration between the American Association of Neurological Surgeons and the Congress of Neurological Surgeons.

Charles Brenner, Ph.D., a professor of genetics, was named to the National Institutes of Health's International Cooperative I Study Section for the Center for Scientific Review.

Catherine Pipas, M.D., chief of the Section of Family Medicine as well as assistant dean for medical education, has been appointed to the New Hampshire Board of Medicine.

Donald Mahler, M.D., a professor of medicine, was appointed to the Leadership Board of the American Lung Association's New Hampshire chapter. Jay Buckey, M.D., a professor of medicine, was named cochair of the 2008 New Hampshire Democratic State Convention in Manchester, N.H.

Catherine Carriere, Ph.D., a research assistant professor of medicine, received the 2008 Competitive Award from the Lustgarten Foundation for Pancreatic Cancer Research.

John Turco, M.D., an associate professor of medicine and Dartmouth team physician, as well as director of the Dartmouth College Health Service, was presented with the Distinguished American Award by the Joe Yukica New Hampshire Chapter of the National Football Foundation.

Marie Bakitas, D.N.Sc., an assistant professor of anesthesiology, received a two-year Junior Faculty Career Development Award from the National Palliative Care Research Center.

Marcia Herrin, Ed.D., an adjunct assistant professor of community and family medicine, with coauthor Nancy Matsumoto, received the Honors Award in the 2008 National Parenting Publications Awards Parenting Resources competition for their book The Parent's Guide to Eating Disorders: Supporting Self-Esteem, Healthy Eating, and Positive Body Image at Home.

Jennifer Bomberger, Ph.D., a research fellow in physiology, received the AnnWeinberg Research Fellowship from the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation.

Kevin Cummings, Ph.D., a research associate in physiology, was awarded a 2008 Parker B. Francis Fellowship to study reflex imbalances in sudden infant death syndrome. Sherzana Sunderji, a second-year DMS student, was elected northeastern regional delegate on community and diversity to the Association of American Medical Colleges.

Thomas Scanlon, Ph.D., a postdoctoral fellow at Dartmouth's Thayer School of Engineering and a member of DMS's Lung Biology Program, was the recipient of the Carol Basbaum Fellowship from the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation.

Three members of the DHMC Creative Services staff received awards from the New England Society for Healthcare Communications: Timothy Dean was presented with the Owen J.McNamara Award for Excellence in Writing, and Erin Higgins and Mark Washburn received Lamplighter Awards. The DHMC Transforming Medicine Employee Campaign also received a Lamplighter Award, recognizing work by members of the Development staff: Amy Schrom, Barbara Masteller, Kate Villars, and Wendy Simpson.

Gordon Koff has been appointed director of financial aid at DMS. He was formerly director of financial aid and admissions at Vermont Law School and is president-elect of the EasternAssociation of Student Financial Aid Administrators.

Dartmouth Medical School was once again ranked among the nation's top medical schools by U.S. News & World Report. DMS ranked 13th on a scale emphasizing primary care and 31st on a scale emphasizing research.

The DHMC Pain Management Center received the American Pain Society's Clinical Center of Excellence in Pain Management Award.

Erratum: A photo in our Spring issue was miscredited. The top left photo on page 42—of microbiologist Elmer Pfefferkorn with a student—was by Flying Squirrel Graphics, not Jon Gilbert Fox. We regret the error.

If you'd like to offer feedback about this article, we'd welcome getting your comments at DartMed@Dartmouth.edu.

This article may not be reproduced or reposted without permission. To inquire about permission, contact DartMed@Dartmouth.edu.

Back to Table of Contents

Dartmouth Medical SchoolDartmouth-Hitchcock Medical CenterWhite River Junction VAMCNorris Cotton Cancer CenterDartmouth College