Dartmouth Medicine HomeCurrent IssueAbout UsContact UsSearchPodcasts

Worthy of note: Honors, awards, appointments, etc.

William Wickner, M.D., the James Chilcott Professor of Biochemistry, was recently elected a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Among the other new fellows and foreign honorary members this year were Kofi Annan, secretary-general of the United Nations; journalist Walter Cronkite; and Nobel Prize-winning physicist Donald Glasner. Wickner was recognized for his studies on cell membranes and protein movement.

John Wennberg, M.D., the Peggy Thomson Professor of the Evaluative Clinical Sciences and director of DMS's Center for the Evaluative Clinical Sciences, received the 2003 Health Quality Award from the National Committee for Quality Assurance; it recognizes contributions made toward improving the quality of health care through research, public policy, or public education.

Thomas Oxman, M.D., a professor of psychiatry and of community and family medicine, was elected to the board of directors of the American Association of Geriatric Psychiatry.

Frances Friedman, M.D., an assistant professor of medicine emerita, was one of 40 physicians nationwide to receive a Laureate Award from the American College of Physicians, for her work for the ACP.

Robert Racusin, M.D., an associate professor of psychiatry and of pediatrics, was the recipient of the 2003 Psychiatrist of the Year Award for New Hampshire. It is presented by the state's chapter of the National Alliance for the Mentally Ill.

William Boyle, M.D., a professor of pediatrics, was recently selected as the recipient of the Granite State's 2003 Pediatrician of the Year Award. The award is presented annually by the New Hampshire Pediatric Society.

Catherine Pipas, M.D., an associate professor of community and family medicine, was elected cochair of the National Steering Committee for the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine's Predoctoral Education Committee.

Robert Harbaugh, M.D., a professor of surgery and of radiology, was selected by the American Stroke Association, a division of the American Heart Association, to serve as a member-at-large of the Stroke Leadership Committee.

Six faculty members were honored as the inaugural recipients of Dean's Faculty Awards— a new DMS award recognizing excellence in four different areas. The Senior Faculty Award was presented to Donald St. Germain, M.D. (pictured), a professor of medicine and of physiology as well as acting chair of the Department of Medicine. Honored for basic science was George O'Toole, Ph.D., an assistant professor of microbiology and immunology; for clinical investigation, Lisa Schwartz, M.D., and Steven Woloshin, M.D., both associate professors of medicine and of community and family medicine; for teaching and clinical care, Joshua Lee, M.D., an assistant professor of medicine; and for translational research, John Hwa, Ph.D., an assistant professor of pharmacology and toxicology.

Peter Silberfarb, M.D., the Raymond Sobel Professor of Psychiatry and a professor of medicine, was honored for his 16 years of service as chair of the Department of Psychiatry with the establishment of the Peter Silberfarb Distinguished Lectureship in Psychiatry.

Jonathan Ross, M.D., an associate professor of medicine and of community and family medicine, has been named the Almy Clinical Scholar. The post is a threeyear appointment that allows a senior faculty member to put extra time into developing new clinical teaching programs. It was funded in honor of the late Thomas P. Almy, M.D., former chair of medicine at Dartmouth. See the feature on page 32 for insight into one of Ross's educational efforts.

Kenneth Arndt, M.D., an adjunct professor of medicine, received the Leon M. Goldman Memorial Award from the American Society of Laser Medicine and Surgery. The award recognizes demonstrated longitudinal excellence in performing clinical laser research.

Eugene Lariviere, M.D., an adjunct assistant professor of pediatrics, was named Citizen of of the Year by the Greater Manchester Chamber of Commerce. He was instrumental in founding the Dartmouth-Hitchcock Clinics in Manchester and Bedford.

Elizabeth Eisenhardt, a first-year medical student, was the sole medical student representative at a national symposium to create strategies for increasing the role of the arts in health care. The symposium was hosted by the National Endowment for the Arts and the Society for the Arts in Health Care.

Eight first-year Dartmouth medical students were selected as Schweitzer Fellows for 2003- 2004: Joseph Dwaihy, Elizabeth Eisenhardt, Krista Heydt, Christopher Jons, Katrina Mitchell, Shirin Sioshansi, Emily Walker, and Roy Wade. In the Schweitzer Fellowship program, participants engage in interdisciplinary activities in the community that emphasize values and leadership.

Anthony Perrone, a third-year medical student, was elected regional chair for legislative affairs of the American Medical Association's Organization of Student Representatives.

Kim O'Hara, a graduate student in pharmacology and toxicology, received the Society of Toxicology's Taylor & Francis Graduate Student Award, Metals Specialty Section.

In the 2003 U.S. News & World Report ranking of the country's 125 medical schools, Dartmouth Medical School was ranked 35th on a scale emphasizing research activity and 27th on a scale emphasizing the percentage of graduates who enter primary-care specialties. The rankings are based on grant funding, reputation, test scores, and student-faculty ratios.

Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center was named by Business NH Magazine and the New Hampshire Association of Chamber of Commerce Executives as the Health-Care Business of the Year for 2003. Factors considered in making the award were impact on the industry and the community.

DMS's Patient Partnership Program was selected by the Fetzer Institute as a finalist for the 2002 Norman Cousins Award. Cousins was a writer and humanitarian who focused attention on the importance of relationships to health and healing.

Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center was the recipient of two recent environmental awards: the 2002 H2E Environmental Leadership Award for its overall environmental practices, and the Making Medicine Mercury Free Award for eliminating mercury from the facility. Both awards were presented by Hospitals for a Healthy Environment (H2E), a national group sponsored jointly by the Environmental Protection Agency and the American Hospital Association. DHMC has been mercury- free since 1997, has eliminated the use of the toxic disinfecting agent ethylene oxide, and recycles 38% of its waste stream.

DHMC's PainFree Program received a VHA Leadership Award from VHA, Inc., a nationwide network of community-based health-care organizations. DHMC was one of six health-care organizations nationwide to receive the award. The recipients are chosen based on clinical effectiveness, operational performance, supply-chain management, and community health.

If you would like to offer any feedback about this article, we would welcome getting your comments at DartMed@Dartmouth.edu.

Back to Vital Signs

Dartmouth Medical SchoolDartmouth-Hitchcock Medical CenterWhite River Junction VAMCNorris Cotton Cancer CenterDartmouth College