Home Past IssuesAbout UsContact Us Twitter Icon Facebook Logo LinkedIn Logo


Faculty Notes

By Susan Green

James Bliska, PhD

Molecular biologist James Bliska, PhD, joined Geisel as a Distinguished Professor in Microbiology and Immunology and senior lead faculty member of the Personalized Treatments for Cystic Fibrosis (CF) Cluster, a cross-Dartmouth group of investigators developing innovative, personalized medicine and treatments for CF and lung infections caused by opportunistic pathogens.

Formerly a professor of molecular genetics and microbiology at Stony Brook University, Bliska's research has focused on understanding how bacterial toxins interact with the immune system to trigger pathogenesis or host protection. At Dartmouth, he has expanded the scope of his research to include investigating opportunistic bacterial pathogens that produce toxins and cause mucosal infections, such as those that occur in the lungs of CF patients. Read more at dartgo.org/bliska.

Barbara Jobst, MD, PhD

Barbara C. Jobst, MD, PhD, professor of neurology at the Geisel School of Medicine and section chief in the Department of Neurology at Dartmouth-Hitchcock, has been named the Louis and Ruth Frank Professor in Neuroscience. An internationally recognized pioneer in the treatment of epilepsy and associated memory disorders, Jobst has led the Dartmouth-Hitchcock Epilepsy Center since 2008 and the Epilepsy and Cognition Lab at Geisel since 2013.

She is currently developing cognitive behavioral therapies and self-management tools that help adult patients manage the memory issues that frequently accompany epilepsy.

An instructor and mentor, Jobst works with fellows, residents, medical students, and graduate students at Geisel and Dartmouth-Hitchcock, and Dartmouth College undergraduates, to develop effective research strategies and to "see the beauty in medicine." Read more at dartgo.org/jobst.

Gregory Tsongalis, PhD

Gregory Tsongalis, PhD, a professor of pathology at Geisel and director of the Laboratory for Clinical Genomics and Advanced Technology at Dartmouth-Hitchcock and Dartmouth's Norris Cotton Cancer Center, received the Jeffrey A. Kant Leadership Award from the Association for Molecular Pathology.

The prestigious award is given each year to a member who has demonstrated exceptional leadership in order to further the mission and vision of the association, which works to advance the clinical practice, science, and excellence of molecular and genomic laboratory medicine through education, innovation, and advocacy to enable highest quality healthcare.

Tsongalis was also commended for the dedication he has shown over his career to applying new molecular techniques to diagnostic questions that are not adequately addressed by traditional laboratory methods. Read more at dartgo.org/tsongalis_award.

Sandra Wong, MD, MS

Sandra L. Wong, MD, MS, has been named the William N. and Bessie Allyn Professor in Surgery at the Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth. Wong, chair of the Department of Surgery at Geisel and Dartmouth-Hitchcock (D-H), also serves as senior vice president of the Surgical Service Line at D-H and is a professor at The Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy and Clinical Practice.

A well-known authority in the management of soft tissue sarcomas, melanoma, and Merkel Cell carcinoma, Wong is among the most widely recognized health services researchers in academic surgery. She is currently studying variations in the quality and costs of cancer care and surgical episodes in order to inform the broader picture of healthcare reform, and develops and evaluates clinical practice guidelines focused on improving patient outcomes. Read more at dartgo.org/wong_allynprof.

If you'd like to offer feedback about this article, we'd welcome getting your comments at DartMed@Dartmouth.edu.

This article may not be reproduced or reposted without permission. To inquire about permission, contact DartMed@Dartmouth.edu.

Back to Table of Contents

Geisel School of Medicine at DartmouthDartmouth-Hitchcock Medical CenterWhite River Junction VAMCNorris Cotton Cancer CenterDartmouth College