COVID-19 Information
HomeCurrent IssuePast IssuesAbout UsContact Us Twitter Icon Facebook Logo LinkedIn Logo


Worthy of Note

Clifford Belden, MD, an associate professor of radiology and of neurology, was appointed chair of the Department of Radiology. He had served as interim chair since 2011. Belden's research interests include head and neck cancer and translating emerging imaging technology to clinical practice. He is a senior member of the American Society of Neuroradiology.

C. Fordham von Reyn, MD, a professor of medicine and director of DarDar International Programs at Geisel, received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the International Union Against Tuberculosis and Lung Disease. The International Union honored von Reyn for developing DAR-901, the first new vaccine in 85 years shown to be effective against tuberculosis. In a large randomized controlled trial in Tanzania, DAR-901 reduced the rate of tuberculosis among HIV-infected patients by 39%. The Union also recognized von Reyn for his leadership of the Section of Infectious Disease and International Health at DHMC.

Marc Ernstoff, MD, a professor of medicine and associate director for clinical research at the Norris Cotton Cancer Center, was appointed to the O. Ross McIntyre Endowed Professorship at the Norris Cotton Cancer Center and the Geisel School of Medicine Dartmouth. The professorship is named in honor of longtime NCCC director O. Ross McIntyre.

Anna Tosteson, ScD, a professor of medicine and of community and family medicine, was appointed the James J. Carroll Professor in Oncology at the Norris Cotton Cancer Center and the Geisel School of Medicine. Tosteson's research is in clinical and health policy issues in cancer and musculoskeletal diseases.

Leslie Fall, MD, a professor of pediatrics, was elected to the American Pediatric Society in recognition of her contributions as a physician-educator.

Joseph O'Donnell, MD, a professor of medicine and of psychiatry, received the Holly Sateia Award as part of Dartmouth College's 2013 Martin Luther King, Jr., Social Justice Awards.

Surachai Supattapone, MD, PhD, a professor of biochemistry and of medicine, was elected a fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology.

Gregory Tsongalis, PhD, a professor of pathology and director of molecular pathology at DHMC, received the 2013 American Association for Clinical Chemistry and National Academy of Clinical Biochemistry Award for Outstanding Contributions to Clinical Chemistry.

Jessica Fried ('14) was elected Chair-Elect of the Association of American Medical Colleges' Organization of Student Representatives.

Kristen Jogerst ('16) was selected to the inaugural Education Committee of the Consortium of Universities for Global Health.

If you'd like to offer feedback about this article, we'd welcome getting your comments at

This article may not be reproduced or reposted without permission. To inquire about permission, contact

Back to Table of Contents

Geisel School of Medicine at DartmouthDartmouth-Hitchcock Medical CenterWhite River Junction VAMCNorris Cotton Cancer CenterDartmouth College