Home Past IssuesAbout UsContact Us Twitter Icon Facebook Logo LinkedIn Logo

Vital Signs

Worthy of Note: Honors, awards, appointments, etc.

Freddie Fu, M.D., DC '74, Geisel '75, a member of the Geisel Board of Overseers, was awarded the Sports Leadership Award by the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette Dapper Dan Charities. Fu, the David Silver Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery and the chair of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at the University of Pittsburgh, has long been a leader in sports medicine. His research on the techniques used to treat injuries of the anterior cruciate ligament in the knee have led to dramatic improvements in the procedure. "We've all heard the expression, 'Keep your eyes on the ball,'" Fu said at the awards ceremony. "In sports medicine, we keep our eyes on the patient."

William Green, Ph.D., a professor of microbiology and immunology, a former dean of Geisel, and the current director of Dartmouth's Center of Biomedical Research Excellence (COBRE) in immunology, received a distinguished service award from the American Association of Immunologists. Green has served on the Association's Committee on Public Affairs for five years, including two years as committee chair, during which he led efforts to raise public awareness of the importance of biomedical research. Green also directs the Dartmouth Community Medical School and holds the Elmer R. Pfefferkorn professorship.

Charles Barlowe, Ph.D., a professor of biochemistry, was elected a Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology. Fellows of the Academy are elected annually through a highly selective, peer-review process, based on their records of scientific achievement and original contributions that have advanced microbiology.

William Black, M.D., a professor of radiology; Elliott Fisher, M.D., a professor of medicine and director of the Center for Population Health at the Dartmouth Institute; and Nancy Morden, M.D., an assistant professor of community and family medicine, have all been cited by the American Society of Clinical Oncology as achieving noteworthy advancements in 2011 in the effort to improve cancer treatment and prevention.

Norman Berman, M.D., an associate professor of pediatrics, and Leslie Fall, M.D., a professor of pediatrics, received the inaugural Council on Medical Student Education in Pediatrics Teaching/Education Award.

Bruce Stanton, Ph.D., was invited to serve as a member of the Lung Cellular, Molecular, and Immunobiology Study Section of the National Institutes of Health.

Thomas Ward, M.D., a professor of neurology and co-director of the DHMC Headache Center, was appointed editor-in-chief of Headache, the official journal of the American Headache Society. His appointment begins January 1, 2013.

If you'd like to offer feedback about this article, we'd welcome getting your comments at DartMed@Dartmouth.edu.

This article may not be reproduced or reposted without permission. To inquire about permission, contact DartMed@Dartmouth.edu.

Back to Table of Contents

Geisel School of Medicine at DartmouthDartmouth-Hitchcock Medical CenterWhite River Junction VAMCNorris Cotton Cancer CenterDartmouth College