Dartmouth Medicine HomeCurrent IssueAbout UsContact UsSearchPodcasts

PDF Version   Printer-Friendly Version

Vital Signs

Worthy of note: Honors, awards, appointments, etc.

Allen Dietrich, M.D., a professor of community and family medicine, was named a member of the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, the nation's leading panel for preventive and primary care. He is also cochair of the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation Initiative on Depression and Primary Care, a national program based at Dartmouth.

Richard Powell, M.D., a professor of surgery, was recently appointed as a member of the Bioengineering, Technology and Surgical Sciences Study Section of the National Institutes of Health's Center for Scientific Review.

Diane Harper, M.D., a professor of community and family medicine, was the lead author of a paper that was chosen as runner-up for the best medical research paper of 2006 by a panel of Lancet editors and an international advisory board. The paper reported results of a cervical cancer vaccine trial.

Kiang-Teck Yeo, Ph.D., a professor of pathology, was named chair-elect of the molecular pathology division of the American Association for Clinical Chemistry. He will serve as chair for the 2008-09 term.

Karen George, M.D., an assistant professor of obstetrics and gynecology and the director of DHMC's ob-gyn residency program, was presented with the DHMC Courage to Teach Award, recognizing the outstanding residency director.

Katherine McFaun Williams, B.S.N., a clinical resource coordinator in the DHMC Office of Care Management, was honored

by the Vermont State Nurses' Association as the 2006 recipient of the organization's Distinguished Service Award. She has served the Vermont State Nurses' Association as a district president, chair of the nominating committee, and state president.

Frank Musiek, Ph.D., a visiting professor of surgery and the former director of audiology at DHMC, received the American Academy of Audiology's James Jerger Career Award for Research in Audiology. It is the nation's major award in the field of audiology.

Seddon Savage, M.D., an adjunct associate professor of anesthesiology, was recently appointed president of the New Hampshire Medical Society. She is also the director of the Dartmouth Center on Addiction Recovery and Education.

Alfred Griggs, chair of both the Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center Board of Trustees and of the Mary Hitchcock Memorial Hospital Board of Trustees, received the New England Healthcare Assembly's Trustee Leadership Award for 2006. He joined the MHMH Board in 1994 and has chaired it since 2001, and he joined the DHMC Board in 1999 and has chaired it since 2002.

Roy Wade, a fourth-year DMS student, was one of only five medical students nationwide named a GE Medical Scholar by the National Medical Fellowship program; open to fourth-year medical students, the fellowship will allow him to participate in a threemonth elective in Ghana, West Africa.

Narath Carlile, a second-year DMS student, received an American Medical Association Foundation 2007 Leadership Award, recognizing future leaders in organized medicine.

Jessica Morgan, James Town, and Kristen Yurkerwich, all second-year DMS students, accepted the Martin Luther King, Jr., Dartmouth Social Justice

Award, in the student organization category, on behalf of the DMS Community Service Committee's Mascoma Clinic Project. See here in this issue for more about the Mascoma Clinic.

Eight first- and second-year Dartmouth medical students—Omri Ayalon, Leslie Claracay, Nicolas Ellis, Umbareen Mahmood, Carolyn Presley, Rajesh Ramanathan, Katherine Ratzan, and Pablo Valdes—have been named DMS's first Urban Health Scholars. The program, which is supported by a grant from the Harvard Pilgrim Health Care Foundation, is for students interested in caring for underserved patients in urban areas. It is modeled on DMS's Rural Health Scholars Program, which is aimed at students interested in primary care in remote areas. The Urban Scholars will work during their clinical rotations and electives in neighborhood clinics, shelters, community centers, and other venues that serve vulnerable populations. Joseph O'Donnell, M.D., DMS's senior advising dean, is overseeing the program.

John Strohbehn, Ph.D., former provost of Dartmouth College, died on February 22 in Hanover, N.H. He was 70 years old. A member of the faculty at Dartmouth's Thayer School of Engineering from 1963 to 1993, he also held an adjunct appointment at the Medical School and collaborated on biomedical engineering research with several DMS faculty. He was provost at Dartmouth from 1987 to 1993, and it is a mark of his impact on the institution that the Medical School named its top award for a graduating Ph.D. student in his honor. After leaving Dartmouth, Strohbehn was provost of Duke University from 1994 to 1999; he retired from Duke in 2003.

Dartmouth's Norris Cotton Cancer Center and the American Cancer Society (ACS) recently announced an agreement to share information and resources and to collaborate on research, advocacy, and cancer awareness activities. One of only 39 National Cancer Institute- designated comprehensive cancer centers in the U.S., Norris Cotton is the first one in New England to enter into this kind of partnership with the ACS.

If you'd like to offer feedback about this article, we'd welcome getting your comments at DartMed@Dartmouth.edu.

This article may not be reproduced or reposted without permission. To inquire about permission, contact DartMed@Dartmouth.edu.

Back to Table of Contents

Dartmouth Medical SchoolDartmouth-Hitchcock Medical CenterWhite River Junction VAMCNorris Cotton Cancer CenterDartmouth College