Dartmouth Medicine HomeCurrent IssueAbout UsContact UsSearchPodcasts

PDF Version   Printer-Friendly Version

Vital SIgns

Worthy of note: Honors, awards, appointments, etc.

C. Everett Koop, M.D., Sc.D., a professor of surgery and the senior scholar of Dartmouth's Koop Institute, was recently presented with the Surgeon General's Medallion by U.S. Surgeon General Richard Carmona, M.D., for his contributions to the fights against AIDS and underage smoking.

Diane Harper, M.D., M.P.H., an associate professor of community and family medicine and of obstetrics and gynecology, has been named a member of the Susan G. Komen Foundation's Risk, Prevention, and Epidemiology Study Section, as well as of the National Merck Young Adult Advisory Board for HPV Vaccines.

Jocelyn Chertoff, M.D., an associate professor of radiology and of obstetrics and gynecology, was recently appointed to the newly created position of assistant dean of clinical affairs for Dartmouth Medical School. She is also vice chair of the Department of Radiology and assistant medical director for medical staff affairs, as well as a member of the Hospital-Clinic Board of Governors.

Joseph Henderson, M.D., a professor of community and family medicine, was recognized by the Federal Laboratory Consortium for Technology Transfer, for excellence in technology transfer, for a multimedia educational tool titled "Genetics in Clinical Practice—A Team Approach."

Tor Tosteson, Sc.D., a professor of community and family medicine, has been named to the Cancer Epidemiology, Prevention, and Control Study Section of the National Cancer Institute.

Jonathan Park, Ph.D., supervisor of cytogenetics for DHMC and an adjunct assistant professor of pathology, was awarded the Association of Genetic Technologists Outstanding Achievement Award.

Gina Balkus, Dartmouth-Hitchcock's director of government relations for New Hampshire, was elected president of the New England Society for Healthcare Communications. She has served on the society's board since 1997. James Platt, an instructor in psychiatry and director of the Dartmouth College Faculty/Employee Assistance Program, was recognized for exemplary service to the International Association of Employee Assistance Professionals in Higher Education.

Elinor Stalker, R.N., an emergency room nurse at Cheshire Medical Center/Dartmouth- Hitchcock Keene in Keene, N.H., was recently presented with the New Hampshire Emergency Nurse of the Year Award.

Dartmouth Medical School's Community Service Committee, a multiproject, student-run initiative, was a recent recipient of the Dartmouth College Social Justice Award. Accepting the award on behalf of the student body were three DMS students: Matthew Laquer, Jennifer Levin, and Elizabeth Wallis.

Valley Regional Healthcare, the parent organization of Valley Regional Hospital in Claremont, N.H., became the 12th member of the Dartmouth-Hitchcock Alliance. The Alliance is a regional network of hospitals, mental-health centers, and home-care agencies in Massachusetts, Vermont, and New Hampshire.

The New Hampshire Healthy Kids Corporation recently selected Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center as one of its "Business Partners of the Year."

The Foundation for Healthy Communities recently honored Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center with its New Hampshire Health Access Network Leadership Award. The Health Access Network is one of the foundation's initiatives and is aimed at helping low-income residents of the state get free and discounted care.

If you'd like to offer feedback about this article, we'd welcome getting your comments at DartMed@Dartmouth.edu.

This article may not be reproduced or reposted without permission. To inquire about permission, contact DartMed@Dartmouth.edu.

Back to Table of Contents

Dartmouth Medical SchoolDartmouth-Hitchcock Medical CenterWhite River Junction VAMCNorris Cotton Cancer CenterDartmouth College