Dartmouth Medicine HomeCurrent IssueAbout UsContact UsSearchPodcasts

Vital Signs

Worthy of note: Honors, awards, appointments, etc.

Lawrence Kaplan, M.D., an associate professor of pediatrics, is a board member of the Gesell Institute of Human Development.

Bruce Stanton, Ph.D., a professor of physiology, has been named chair of the National Institutes of Health Study Section on Cell and Molecular Biology of the Kidney. In addition, he was tapped as cochair of the program committee for the 18th annual North American Cystic Fibrosis Conference.

Andrew Saykin, Psy.D., a professor of psychiatry, is a member of the Study Section on the Neural Basis of Psychopathology, Addictions, and Sleep Disorders of the National Institutes of Health Center for Scientific Review. He was also named to the editorial board of the Journal of Clinical and Experimental Neuropsychology.

William Wickner, M.D., a professor of biochemistry, was appointed to the editorial board of the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences.

Diane Kittredge, M.D., an associate professor of pediatrics, is the new president-elect of the Ambulatory Pediatric Association.

Donald West, M.D., an associate professor of psychiatry, received the Nancy C.A. Roeske, M.D., Certificate of Recognition for Excellence in Medical Student Education from the American Psychiatric Association.

Stephen Bartels, M.D., an associate professor of psychiatry, received the Health Services Research Senior Scholar Award of the American Psychiatric Association.

Kiang-Teck Yeo, Ph.D., a professor of pathology, was appointed to the editorial board of Clinica Chimica Acta.

Robert Harris, M.D., an associate professor of radiology, was selected as an examiner for the oral section of the American Board of Radiology diplomate examination.

Lori Alvord, M.D., an assistant professor of surgery, received a Federal Appreciation Award in recognition of her teaching and research on surgical outcomes in Native American populations.

Sarah Johansen, M.D., an instructor of medicine, was elected president of the New Hampshire section of the American College of Emergency Physicians.

Robert Keene, D.M.D., an adjunct associate professor of surgery emeritus (dentistry), was elected secretary-treasurer of the American Academy of Gold Foil Operators, which is dedicated to excellence in surgical dentistry.

Virginia Olga Emery, Ph.D., an adjunct associate professor of psychiatry, was honored for "outstanding research on behalf of those afflicted with dementia" by the New Hampshire Hospital.

A pair of otolaryngologists on the faculty earned recent honors. Samuel Doyle, M.D., was named New Hampshire Tree Farmer of the Year. And Dudley Weider, M.D., took third place in his age group at both the 25-kilometer and 50-kilometer distances in the 2004 U.S. Marathon Speed-Skating Championship.

Suzanne Boulter, M.D., an adjunct assistant professor of pediatrics, received the Founders Award for Community Leadership from the American Academy of Pediatrics and was designated as one of two nationally recognized "local heroes" for her activities in behalf of children in the state.

Seddon Savage, M.D., an adjunct associate professor of anesthesiology, was recently presented with the Marie Nyswander Humanitarian Award at the International Conference on Pain and Chemical Dependency.

Albert Mulley, M.D., a 1970 graduate of Dartmouth College and a member of the DMS Board of Overseers since 1999, was elected a Trustee of Dartmouth College. He is chief of the Division of General Medicine at Massachusetts General Hospital and has conducted research on decision theory and patient outcomes in collaboration with several faculty members at Dartmouth.

Peter Johnson, chief information officer and senior vice president of DHMC, was appointed treasurer of Green Mountain Economic Development Corporation.

Matthew McDonald, M.D., an intern in general internal medicine, was one of a select number of residents nationwide invited to participate in the National Resident Educational Program of the American Academy of Allergy, Asthma, and Immunology.

Jil Shangraw, M.S., R.D., a clinical dietitian, received the Emerging Leader Award of the New Hampshire Dietetic Association.

The VA Medical Center in White River Junction, Vt., was awarded the 2003 Governor's Award for Performance Excellence by the Vermont Council for Quality.

Back to Vital Signs

Back to Table of Contents

Dartmouth Medical SchoolDartmouth-Hitchcock Medical CenterWhite River Junction VAMCNorris Cotton Cancer CenterDartmouth College