COVID-19 Information
Home Past IssuesAbout UsContact Us Twitter Icon Facebook Logo LinkedIn Logo


Faculty Notes

New Associate Dean for Diversity and Inclusion

Stephanie White, MD

Stephanie L. White, MD, MSHS, FAAP, has been named Geisel's Associate Dean for Diversity and Inclusion.

Overseeing the medical school's Office of Diversity, Inclusion, and Community Engagement, White works closely with Geisel senior leadership and Dartmouth's director of Institutional Diversity and Equity, as well as the leadership of Dartmouth-Hitchcock, White River Junction Veterans Affairs Medical Center, and Guarini School of Graduate and Advanced Studies to build a diverse and inclusive community.

A pediatrician, White joined Geisel as an assistant professor of pediatrics in 2015 and has been deeply involved in diversity related initiatives. She said diversity and inclusion, "compels collaborations, constantly requires learning and reflection of our own biases, and ultimately allows those of us in the field to remember why we do this work—to create equitable and respectful work environments that allow for innovation, the opportunity to advance science, and the possibility to change the mindsets of generations of physicians who will go on to care for millions and ameliorate our most challenging health disparities."

New Chair of Microbiology and Immunology

David Leib, PhD

David A. Leib, PhD, a professor of microbiology and immunology and adjunct professor of biology at Dartmouth, has been named Chair of the Department of Microbiology and Immunology.

Since joining Geisel in 2009, Leib has built a successful research program focusing on discovery and elucidation of new vaccines and therapeutics for neonatal herpesvirus infections. In addition to his research efforts, Leib also teaches undergraduate and graduate courses in virology at Dartmouth.

"I am honored to become the new chair of microbiology and immunology," said Leib. "Former chairs Bill Green, Michael Fanger, and Elmer Pfefferkorn are tough acts to follow, but with the strong foundation and the terrific cadre of current faculty, students, scientists, and administrators, I am very excited to lead and continue the development of the department."

Geisel Academy of Master Educators Inducts New Members

In May, Dean Duane Compton, PhD, inducted four new faculty into the Geisel Academy of Master Educators (GAME) and honored another with a lifetime achievement award. Nominated by their colleagues, each possess a demonstrated commitment to excellence in teaching and medical education.

Students and colleagues shared personal stories about the influence and mentorship they received as they introduced inductees Jeffrey Kuvin, MD, professor of medicine; Patricia Lanter, MD, assistant professor of medicine and of health policy and clinical practice; Justin Mowchun, MD, assistant professor of neurology and of medical education; and Bill Nelson, PhD, MDiv, associate professor of psychiatry, of community and family medicine, and of health policy and clinical practice.

Vincent Memoli, MD, active emeritus professor of pathology and laboratory medicine, received the 2018 GAME Lifetime Achievement Award.

If you'd like to offer feedback about this article, we'd welcome getting your comments at

This article may not be reproduced or reposted without permission. To inquire about permission, contact

Back to Table of Contents

Geisel School of Medicine at DartmouthDartmouth-Hitchcock Medical CenterWhite River Junction VAMCNorris Cotton Cancer CenterDartmouth College