Home Past IssuesAbout UsContact Us Twitter Icon Facebook Logo LinkedIn Logo


Worthy of Note

Honors, awards, appointments, etc.

In a ceremony in June, seven faculty members were inducted to Geisel's Academy of Master Educators. Members of this distinguished group were nominated by their fellow faculty members because of their demonstrated commitment to excellence in teaching and medical education. The new members for 2014 are Jeffrey Cohen, MD, the chair of neurology; Matt Duncan, MD, an assistant professor of psychiatry; Greg Ogrinc, MD, an associate professor of community and family medicine; Tim Lahey, MD, an associate professor of medicine; Surachai Supattapone, MD, PhD, a professor of biochemistry; Lin Brown, MD, an associate professor of medicine; and Adam Weinstein, MD, an assistant professor of pediatrics.

Tor Tosteson, ScD, a professor of Community and Family Medicine and of The Dartmouth Institute of Health Policy and Clinical Practice at Geisel, was named a fellow of the American Statistical Association, the world's largest community of statisticians. Tosteson, who is director of the Biostatistics Shared Resource at the Norris Cotton Cancer Center and the Biostatistics Consulting Core of the Dartmouth Clinical and Translational Institute, was recognized for contributions to statistical methodology, and for advancing education in quantitative methods for biomedical sciences.

Jocelyn Chertof, MD, has been appointed interim chair of the Department of Radiology. Chertoff received her MD from the University of Vermont College of Medicine in 1981. She completed a transitional internship at Hartford Hospital in 1982, a pediatric internship at the University of Connecticut Health Center in 1983, and a fellowship in cross-sectional imaging at the Medical Center Hospital of Vermont in Burlington, Vt., in 1991. She joined the faculty of Geisel and the professional staff of Dartmouth-Hitchcock in 1991.

Freddie Fu (DC '74, Med '75), a member of the Geisel Board of Overseers, received the Elizabeth Winston Lanier Award from the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation and Kappa Delta Sorority for his contributions to anterior cruciate ligament (ACL) reconstruction and advances in patient care. Fu is the David Silver professor and chair of the University of Pittsburgh Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and founder of the UPMC Center for Sports Medicine.

In June, Jeffrey Cohen, MD, was named chair of the Department of Neurology at Geisel. Cohen has served as interim chair of the department since 2012.

Cohen received his medical degree from the University of Oklahoma in 1977 and a Master's in Health Care Organizational Systems from the University of Denver in 1993. He was named chief resident at Mount Sinai Hospital in New York and completed clinical and research fellowships at the Mayo Clinic and at Massachusetts General Hospital. He held faculty positions at the Mount Sinai School of Medicine and at the University of Colorado Health Sciences Center before joining the Geisel faculty and the professional staff of the Department of Medicine at Dartmouth in 2000.

DHMC was named to the annual list of "100 Great Hospitals in America" by the health-care industry publication Becker's Hospital Review. DHMC was cited as one of the "most prominent, forward-thinking and focused health-care facilities in the nation."

Roshini Pinto-Powell, MD, an associate professor of medicine, and Matt Duncan, MD, an assistant professor of psychiatry, will serve jointly as associate dean for student affairs at Geisel. They succeed Ann Davis, MD, who retired from Dartmouth in June.

Paul Batalden, MD, emeritus professor of pediatrics, of community and family medicine, and of The Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy and Clincal Practice at Geisel, received an honorary medical doctorate from Linkoping University in Sweden. Batalden was recognized for a 40-year career of research on methods and processes for improving health care including advancing the concept of the clinical microsystem. At Linkoping University, he was instrumental in implementing quality improvement programs in health sciences.

Lisa Adams, MD, John Butterly, MD, and Gary Snyder, MS, all contributed to the recently published second edition of Understanding Global Health, a textbook that introduces readers to every aspect of the field of global health. All three have participated in global health work through Geisel. The new edition provides updates on crucial issues in global health.

James Gorham, MD, PhD, was named the first associate director for education at Norris Cotton Cancer Center. Gorham is a professor of microbiology and immunology at Geisel and director of the medical school's MD-PhD program.

James Weinstein, DO, president and CEO of Dartmouth-Hitchcock and a professor of orthopaedic surgery, was awarded the 2014 Clinical Research Award from the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation for his work with the Spine Patient Outcomes Research Trial. The national trial examined the effectiveness of lumbar spine surgery for intervertebral disc herniation, spinal stenosis, and degenerative spondylolisthesis.

Norris Cotton Cancer Center's Department of Radiation Oncology at Dartmouth Hitchcock was awarded a three-year term of accreditation by the American College of Radiology. The accreditation represents the highest level of quality and patient safety.

If you'd like to offer feedback about this article, we'd welcome getting your comments at DartMed@Dartmouth.edu.

This article may not be reproduced or reposted without permission. To inquire about permission, contact DartMed@Dartmouth.edu.

Back to Table of Contents

Geisel School of Medicine at DartmouthDartmouth-Hitchcock Medical CenterWhite River Junction VAMCNorris Cotton Cancer CenterDartmouth College