Home Past IssuesAbout UsContact Us Twitter Icon Facebook Logo LinkedIn Logo


Worthy of Note

Jocelyn Chertoff, MD, a professor of radiology and assistant dean for clinical affairs, was named president of the Association of University Radiologists. She has strong interests in workforce issues in radiology, gastrointestinal imaging, and resident education. She is past president of the Association of Clinician Educators in Radiology and is director of the Section of Gastrointestinal Radiology at DHMC.

Duane Compton, PhD, a professor of biochemistry and the senior associate dean for research, received a MERIT [Method to Extend Research in Time] Award from the National Institutes of Health. This recognition allows researchers who have a demonstrated record of success to receive up to 10 years of funding, allowing them to pursue new areas of research with less pressure to search for new grant funding.

Petra Lewis, MBBS, a professor of radiology and radiology elective director at Geisel, received the Outstanding Teacher Award from the Alliance of Medical Student Educators in Radiology (AMSER). AMSER is part of the Association of University Radiologists. She is president of the Alliance of Clinician Educators in Radiology and has developed a number of national resources for medical student educators, including the AMSER Resource Database and Radiology ExamWeb. She is also vice chair of education for radiology at Geisel.

Jason Moore, PhD, a professor of genetics and director of the Institute for Quantitative Biomedical Sciences, was selected as a Kavli Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences. The Kavli program honors young scientists who are considered leaders in their fields and have made significant contributions to science. Moore was selected for his work in translational bioinformatics and personalized medicine.

Robert Levine, MD, an adjunct assistant professor of medicine, received the H. Jack Baskin, MD, Endocrine Teaching Award from the American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists. Levine is director of the Thyroid Center of New Hampshire.

Matthew Alexander, a graduate student in molecular and cellular biology, received a Joanna M. Nicolay Melanoma Foundation Research Scholar Award. For more on this award, see the article "Young investigators earn recognition and support" in this issue.

The Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth received the 2013 DocCom Curriculum Development Award. DocCom is a curriculum resource designed by the American Academy on Communication in Healthcare and Drexel University College of Medicine. The award is given annually to one medical school and one residency program. The University of Connecticut Internal Medicine Residency Program also received the award.

If you'd like to offer feedback about this article, we'd welcome getting your comments at DartMed@Dartmouth.edu.

This article may not be reproduced or reposted without permission. To inquire about permission, contact DartMed@Dartmouth.edu.

Back to Table of Contents

Geisel School of Medicine at DartmouthDartmouth-Hitchcock Medical CenterWhite River Junction VAMCNorris Cotton Cancer CenterDartmouth College