Home Past IssuesAbout UsContact Us Twitter Icon Facebook Logo LinkedIn Logo

Vital Signs

Worthy of Note: Honors, awards, appointments, etc.

John Moeschler, M.D., a professor of pediatrics, was named New Hampshire Pediatrician of the Year by the New Hampshire Pediatric Society. He was recognized for his 20-year tenure as director of the New Hampshire Leadership Education in Neurodevelopmental and Related Disabilities Program.

Patricia Ernst, Ph.D., an associate professor of genetics and of microbiology and immunology, was elected to the board of directors for the Society for Hematology and Stem Cells. She was also appointed a charter member of the Molecular and Cellular Hematology Study Section of the National Institutes of Health.

Meghan Longacre, Ph.D., a research assistant professor of pediatrics, received an Award for Excellence in Reviewing for her service to the Journal of Nutrition Education and Behavior. She was selected from more than 1,000 reviewers based on her dedication to the journal and the quality of her reviews.

Suzanne Boulter, M.D., an adjunct professor of pediatrics and of community and family medicine, received the 2012 Franklin Norwood Rogers Award from the New Hampshire Pediatric Society.

Eleanor Clancy-Thompson, a Ph.D. candidate in molecular and cellular biology, received one of nine nationally competitive Research Scholar Awards from the Joanna M. Nicolay Melanoma Foundation. Her research focuses on improving the targeting of immune cells to tumors.

Alexandra Coria ('13) and Laura Ostapenko ('13) were selected for Physicians of Tomorrow Awards by the American Medical Association. The two students are among just 18 fourth-year medical students selected nationally. Dartmouth's Geisel School of Medicine is the only medical school in the country to have two medical students selected for this honor.

Thomas Desmarais ('13) received a Doris Duke Clinical Research Fellowship.

The American Heart Association and the American Stroke Association recognized Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center's stroke team with a Get With the Guidelines-Stroke Gold Quality Achievement Award.

Correction: In the listing of Geisel School of Medicine faculty who are fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, on page 7 of the Spring 2012 issue, one faculty name was omitted: Roger P. Smith, Ph.D., Irene Heinz Given Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology emeritus. We apologize for the error.

If you'd like to offer feedback about this article, we'd welcome getting your comments at DartMed@Dartmouth.edu.

This article may not be reproduced or reposted without permission. To inquire about permission, contact DartMed@Dartmouth.edu.

Back to Table of Contents

Geisel School of Medicine at DartmouthDartmouth-Hitchcock Medical CenterWhite River Junction VAMCNorris Cotton Cancer CenterDartmouth College