Dartmouth Medicine HomeCurrent IssueAbout UsContact UsSearchPodcasts

PDF Version   Printer-Friendly Version

Vital Signs

Worthy of note: Honors, awards, appointments, etc.

Michael Simons, M.D., a professor of medicine and chief of the Section of Cardiology, recently assumed the presidency of the North American Vascular Biology Organization.

Kathryn Zug, M.D., an associate professor of medicine, was elected president of the American Contact Dermatitis Society.

William Wickner, M.D., a professor of biochemistry, was elected to the biological sciences membership committee of the National Academy of Sciences.

Harold Swartz, M.D., Ph.D., a professor of radiology, received the International Zavoisky Award, for outstanding applications or developments in electron paramagnetic resonance. In addition, he was recently elected a fellow of the International Electron Paramagnetic Resonance Society.

Claudia Zayfert, Ph.D., an associate professor of psychiatry, was appointed to the editorial board of the journal Cognitive and Behavioral Practice.

Adam Schwarz, M.D., an assistant professor of medicine, received the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award of the Arnold P. Gold Foundation.

Patricia Glowa, M.D., an assistant professor of community and family medicine, was named New Hampshire Family Physician of the Year by the American Academy of Family Physicians.

Barry Smith, M.D., a professor emeritus of obstetrics and gynecology, received an Outstanding District Service Award from the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. He has served the New Hampshire chapter as treasurer, secretary, vice chair, and chair. (See here for more on Smith.)

Lawrence Kaplan, M.D. (pictured), an associate professor of pediatrics, just took office as president of the New

Hampshire Pediatric Society. The Society also recently handed out its annual awards—and every single one of the six individuals honored this year has a DMS tie. Eugene Lariviere, M.D., an adjunct assistant professor of pediatrics and a 1963 DMS alumnus, was named Pediatrician of the Year; Gina Balkus, DHMC's director of government relations, was named Public Citizen of the Year; and Sam Dugan, M.D., an adjunct assistant professor of pediatrics, received the Franklin Norwood Rogers Award, as the retired pediatrician of the year. And three New Hampshire pediatricians received a Special Achievement Award from the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP): George Little, M.D., a professor of pediatrics, for his longstanding commitment to regional pediatric and perinatal care; Gregory Prazar, M.D., an adjunct assistant professor of pediatrics, for promoting New Hampshire's participation in the AAP's collaborative, practice-based research program; and Ardis Olson, M.D., an associate professor of pediatrics, for her leadership in behalf of children with special medical needs. (See here for more on Olson.)

Seddon Savage, M.D., an adjunct associate professor of anesthesiology, was appointed to the education board of the Chronic Pain Network.

Katherine Baicker, Ph.D., an adjunct assistant professor of community and family medicine and a specialist in health economics, has joined the White House Council of Economic Advisors.

James Varnum, M.H.A., president of Mary Hitchcock Memorial Hospital and a professor of administration at DMS, was the first faculty recipient of the C. Everett Koop Award for Courage—an award that will be presented annually to recognize a member of the DMS faculty who exhibits courage, vision, and leadership. Regional outreach and

collaboration have been hallmarks of Varnum's 27- year tenure as president of MHMH. (See here for an announcement of his retirement, as of April 2006.)

Naj Wikoff, director of the Healing and the Arts Project at Dartmouth's Koop Institute, received a Fulbright Scholar grant. He will teach arts administration for a semester at the East Siberian Academy of Culture in the Republic of Buryatia and will also work with children's hospitals and arts organizations in the region.

John Raser, a fourth-year medical student, was selected as a Pisacano Scholar by the Pisacano Leadership Foundation of the American Board of Family Medicine.

Three DHMC nurses received New England Nursing Excellence Awards for 2005: Ellen Lavoie Smith, A.P.R.N., director of advanced practice nursing in hematology/oncology; Karen Gilbert, A.R.N.P., coordinator of the Epilepsy Program; and Deirdre Sheets, P.N.P., a staff nurse in pediatrics.

Marilyn Williams, clinical manager of rehabilitation medicine, received the Pia Garrett Award from the Vermont chapter of the American Physical Therapy Association; she is also the chapter's current president.

Norris Cotton Cancer Center was again named one of the top 50 cancer centers in the country by U.S. News & World Report. The rankings are based on such factors as reputation, mortality rates, nursing ratios, and patient services.

Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center received a special award from the Department of Health and Human Services for its collaborative work with the New England Organ Bank to foster an increase in organ donation rates.

DHMC's Media Services department received a Silver Award in the 12th Annual National Health Information Awards Program, for the production of CancerStory: Prevention and Treatment, a four-part television series that was broadcast nationally on more than 80 public television stations.

If you'd like to offer feedback about this article, we'd welcome getting your comments at DartMed@Dartmouth.edu.

This article may not be reproduced or reposted without permission. To inquire about permission, contact DartMed@Dartmouth.edu.

Back to Table of Contents

Dartmouth Medical SchoolDartmouth-Hitchcock Medical CenterWhite River Junction VAMCNorris Cotton Cancer CenterDartmouth College