Dartmouth Medicine HomeCurrent IssueAbout UsContact UsSearchPodcasts

Worthy of Note: Honors, awards, appointments, etc.

John Wennberg, M.D., director of the Center for the Evaluative Clinical Sciences, was named once again to Modern Healthcare magazine's annual list of the "100 Most Powerful" individuals in the health-care field. He was ranked 85th on the list.

Thomas Ward, M.D., an associate professor of medicine, is the president of the National Board for Certification in Headache Management.

Kenneth Burchard, M.D., a professor of surgery and of anesthesiology, was a recent recipient of the Association for Surgical Education's Outstanding Teaching Award, which is bestowed "for national recognition of outstanding abilities as a teacher of surgery."

Jocelyn Chertoff, M.D., an associate professor of radiology and of obstetrics and gynecology, was selected as a 2003-04 fellow by the Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine Program for Women. The program prepares women on the faculty of academic health centers for senior leadership positions.

James DiRenzo, Ph.D., an assistant professor of pharmacology and toxicology, was named a VScholar by the V Foundation for Cancer Research.

Henry Higgs, Ph.D., an assistant professor of biochemistry, was named a 2003 Pew Scholar in the Biomedical Sciences.

Michael Whitfield, Ph.D., an assistant professor of genetics, received the 12th Annual MBC Paper of the Year Award from the American Society for Cell Biology. His paper was titled "Identification of Genes Periodically Expressed in the Human Cell Cycle and their Expression in Tumors."

Adam Keller, M.P.H., former associate dean and chief operating officer of DMS, was appointed executive vice president for fi- nance and administration of Dartmouth College. He continues to hold an appointment as an instructor in community and family medicine.

Steven Atkins, Psy.D., a clinical associate and instructor in psychiatry, was named a board member of the New Hampshire Psychological Association. He also received the Independent Publishers' Best Parenting Book of 2003 Award for his book Talking to Your Kids About Sex.

Lee Dunn, J.D., an adjunct associate professor of community and family medicine, was reelected as a corporator of the New England Baptist Hospital in Boston. He also was inducted into the Society of Beechers, an honorary society for alumni, faculty, and friends of the Case Western University School of Law.

Madge Buus-Frank, M.S.N., an instructor in pediatrics, was named editor-in-chief of Advances in Neonatal Care, the journal of the National Association of Neonatal Nurses.

Four faculty members and two students were elected to the DMS chapter of Alpha Omega Alpha, the national medical honor society: Donald Bartlett, M.D., a professor and the chair of physiology; Deborah Peltier, M.D., an assistant professor of medicine; Donald Kollisch, M.D., an associate professor of community and family medicine; Charles Wira, Ph.D., a professor of physiology; and fourth-year medical students Symeon Missios and Sarah Pitts.

Karen Coffey, the manager of the Lifeline Program at DHMC, received the Lifeline Systems, Inc., Leadership Award.

An ABC News broadcast titled "A Little Bit of Hope," which included interviews with James Filiano, M.D., an associate professor of pediatrics, was nominated for an Emmy Award in the category "Outstanding Feature in a Regularly Scheduled News Broadcast." The program covered Filiano's treatment of two children with dopa-responsive dystonia. Before the children came to DHMC, they were in wheelchairs, and now not only can they walk, but they take gymnastics and karate lessons.

All of DHMC's new first-year residents were listed in the Summer issue of Dartmouth Medicine. In addition, the following specialties welcomed residents with advanced standing into their programs:

Anesthesiology: Leslie Engles, U of Colorado; William Harrison, U of Colorado; Jeffrey Inman, East Carolina U; Tabitha Washington, U of Colorado.

Cardiovascular Interventional Radiology: Erik Rhodes, Dartmouth.

Dermatology: Denise Maloney, U of Texas; Peter Schalock, Oregon Health Sci U.

Neurology: Helen Barkan, Dartmouth; John Taylor, U of New England.

Neurosurgery: Michael Wolak, Chicago Med Sch.

Obstetrics and Gynecology: Thusitha Cotter, Memorial U of Newfoundland.

Otolaryngology: Matthew Zavod, Jefferson Med Coll.

Pediatrics: Thomas DePaola, George Washington U.

Plastic Surgery: Walter Chang, Dartmouth.

Preventative Medicine: Richard Kutz, Penn State; Stephen Liu, Eastern Virginia Med Sch; John Su, U of Texas.

Psychiatry: Rita Gelsomini-Gruber, U of Zurich; Stephen Grant, U of Colorado; Erica O'Neal, Wayne State U; Barbara Steinbrecher, U of New England.

Radiology: Les Benodin, Dartmouth; Elizabeth Dann, U of Miami; Michael Meszaros, SUNY at Syracuse; Gerald Riley, Dartmouth.

Urology: Catherine Schwender, Med Coll of Georgia.

If you would like to offer any feedback about this article, we would welcome getting your comments at DartMed@Dartmouth.edu.

Back to Vital Signs

Dartmouth Medical SchoolDartmouth-Hitchcock Medical CenterWhite River Junction VAMCNorris Cotton Cancer CenterDartmouth College