Dartmouth Medicine HomeCurrent IssueAbout UsContact UsSearchPodcasts

PDF Version   Printer-Friendly Version

Vital Signs

Worthy of note: Honors, awards, appointments, etc.

John Wennberg, M.D., the Peggy Y. Thomson Professor of the Evaluative Clinical Sciences and the founding director of Dartmouth's Center for the Evaluative Clinical Sciences (CECS), recently received three significant honors: He was named "the most influential health-policy researcher of the past 25 years" by the journal Health Affairs. He received the 2007 Ernest Amory Codman Award from the Joint Commission, the accreditation body for health-care organizations, for his leadership in using outcomes measures to improve health-care quality and safety. And he received the VermontMedical Society 2007 Founders' Award for his pioneering work in evaluating the practice of medicine. For more about Wennberg's career, see this issue's cover story.

Jonathan Skinner, Ph.D., a professor of community and family medicine at DMS and the John Sloan Dickey Third Century Professor of Economics at Dartmouth College, was elected recently to the Institute of Medicine, the premier health advisory organization in the U.S. Skinner was recognized for his research on the economic impact of geographic variations in health-care expenditures. He is affiliated with the Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy and Clinical Practice (formerly CECS).

Ambrose Cheung, M.D., a professor of microbiology and immunology, was elected a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science in the biological sciences section, for his contributions to the understanding of bacterial virulence and molecular pathogenesis.

Kris Strohbehn, M.D., an associate professor of obstetrics and gynecology, was elected president of the American Urogynecologic Society.

Joseph O'Donnell, M.D., a professor of medicine and senior advising dean for Dartmouth Medical School, was recently presented with the 2007 Margaret Hay Edwards medal by the American Association for Cancer Education.

William Hickey, M.D., a professor of pathology, has been appointed a member of the board of governors of the College of American Pathologists.

Bruce Stanton, Ph.D., a professor of physiology, was elected to the board of trustees of the Mount Desert Island Biological Laboratory. He studies the molecular mechanisms of cystic fibrosis.

Joel Lazar, M.D., an assistant professor of community and family medicine, received the top prize in the prose category of the Family Medicine Education Consortium's Creative Writing Competition. His winning entry was a short story titled "Ceremony."

Timothy Lahey, M.D., an assistant professor of medicine, received the 2007 Astellas Young Investigator Award from the Infectious Disease Society of America. He studies HIV infection.

Three members of the faculty—Joseph O'Donnell,M.D., a professor of medicine and senior advising dean; Seddon Savage, M.D., an adjunct associate professor of anesthesiology and director of the Dartmouth Center on Addiction, Recovery, and Education; and William Cooley, M.D., an adjunct associate professor of pediatrics—were inducted into the National Academy of Practice in Medicine.

Catherine Pipas, M.D., an associate professor of community and family medicine and assistant dean of medical education, received a presidential commendation from the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine for her contributions to the organization's Predoctoral Directors Development Institute.

Gerald O'Connor, Sc.D., Ph.D., a professor of medicine and one of the founders of the Northern New England Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, was presented with the Richard C. Talamo Distinguished Clinical Achievement Award. And Hebe Quinton, M.S., a research associate in medicine, received the inaugural Cystic Fibrosis Foundation Quality Improvement Award. Both are also affiliated with the Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy and Clinical Practice.

Therese Stukel, Ph.D., an adjunct professor of community and family medicine, was named a fellow of the American Statistical Association.

Four DHMC residents in internal medicine were recently honored by the New Hampshire-Vermont American College of Physicians. Second-year resident Anthony Yin, M.D., and third-year resident Elizabeth Cogbill, M.D., received the associatemember presentation grand prize; their presentation was titled "Heralded by the Nose." And second-year resident Felicitas Thol, M.D., and third-year resident Annette Beyea, M.D., received first prize for "A Case of Hemoptysis."

The Northern Mountain Branch of the American Association for Laboratory Animal Science recognized two DHMC staff members with 2007 awards: Darlene Royce, a research assistant in the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology, was named Technologist of the Year; and Nina Bishop, a lead laboratory animal technician in the Animal Resources Center, received the group's Horizon Award.

If you'd like to offer feedback about this article, we'd welcome getting your comments at DartMed@Dartmouth.edu.

This article may not be reproduced or reposted without permission. To inquire about permission, contact DartMed@Dartmouth.edu.

Back to Table of Contents

Dartmouth Medical SchoolDartmouth-Hitchcock Medical CenterWhite River Junction VAMCNorris Cotton Cancer CenterDartmouth College