features



ONE RELATIONSHIP AT A TIME, ONE STORY AT A TIME BY SUSAN GREEN

Four Geisel students are changing the way we see each other.



DARTMOUTH'S MD-MBA PROGRAM BY TIM DEAN

MD-MBA students seek to improve the clinical and business sides of medicine.



BUILDING MENTAL HEALTH CARE INTO LATIN AMERICAN PRIMARY CARE BY SUSAN GREEN

Geisel researchers are leading an international effort to create a sustainable mental health-care model in Colombia.

departments

LETTER FROM THE DEAN

HEADLINES Compton Named Dean of Geisel 1 Match Day 2017 4 Supattapone Named AAAS Fellow 6 Geisel Radiologists Honored 7 O'Leary Receives Social Justice Award 8 and more

STUDENT SPOTLIGHT

Chad Lewis ('20)	
Tamutenda Chidawanyika, MD-PhD student	11

INSIGHTS

Heritable Cancer Risk	
Deciphering the Codes of Cell Signaling in Cancer	14

FEATURED FACULTY

Diane Gilbert-Diamond,	ScD	23
Dialic Oluber C Dialifolia	עטט	20

ALUMNI ALBUM

Lucy Inompkins, MD (Med 73) 27	Lucy Thompkins, MD (Med	73) 27
--------------------------------	-------------------------	--------

GIVIN

Syvertsen Fellow is Optimistic and Undaunted	28
Sy Legacy Supports Today's Students	29
Finding Hope for Newborns in Haiti	30

ART OF MEDICINE

Making Peace	32
Making Peace	3:



Dartmouth Medicine is published by the Office of Communications and Marketing at the Geisel School of Medicine.

© Dartmouth College Trustees.

DARTMOUTHMEDICINE

DARTMOUTH MEDICINE

Derik Hertel Editor

Susan Green
Senior Writer

Tim Dean Senior Writer

CONTRIBUTORS

Lars Blackmore
Joseph Blumberg
Eli Burakian
Farah Doyle
Jennifer Durgin
Mandy Erickson
Lori Ferguson
Nancy Fontaine

Jon Gilbert Fox Slava Frimerman Steven Gregory Paige Stein Rob Strong Maria Endrinal Topel Mark Washburn Sarah Zobel

DESIGN

Bean Crag Acres

BOARD OF OVERSEERS Holly S. Andersen, MD (D'85)

R. William Burgess Jr., MBA (D'81) Barbara J. Couch Susan G. Dentzer (D'77) Eric Donnenfeld, MD (D'77, Med'80) Keith Dunleavy, MD (D'91) Freddie H. Fu, MD, DSc (Hon), DPS (Hon) (D'74, Med'75) Steven Gillis, PhD (D'78) Bonnie A. Henderson, MD (D'89, Med'93) David C. Hodgson (D'78) Ross A. Jaffe, MD (D'80), Chair Renée M. Landers, JD Susan Lynch, MD Norman C. Payson, MD (Med'73) Thomas A. Scully, JD Todd Sisitsky, MBA (D'93) Peter L. Slavin, MD, MBA John L. Steffens (D'63) Robert Thurer, MD (D'67, Med'68) Douglas E. Williamson, MD (D'85, Med'93)

EX OFFICIO MEMBERS

Duane Compton, PhD Carolyn Dever, PhD Philip J. Hanlon, PhD (D'77) Sarah G. Johansen, MD, (Med'90) Alfred Montoya, MHA Richard G. Mills James N. Weinstein, DO, MS